Burton 10k

James out in front!!!!

Sunday saw the penultimate race in this year’s Burton and District Road Running League, the Burton 10k. The 243 runners who finished the race were treated to that rarity this summer of cool, damp conditions. Amongst the starters were 41 runners from South Derbyshire Road Runners with 18 year old James Farmer leading the group home in 6th place overall in an excellent 36:51. This performance also earned James the 1st place prize in the U25 competition. Stuart Halsey provided excellent support as he stopped the clock in 39:39 with debutants Will Hirst and Tim Rhodes performing brilliantly to finish in 40:48 and 42:45 respectively. Sandwiched between them was Ellie Evans, who backed up her leading performance in last week’s Cannock Chase 10k with 3rd place overall in the women’s race in 42:03. Ellie also led the Club’s women’s team comprising Christina Hawtin (44:42) and Katie Dennis (44:54) to a thoroughly deserved 1st team prize in the women’s race.

Club Captain, the ultra-consistent Andy Orme recorded 43:06 with Colin Mee, amongst those relishing the change in conditions, stopping the clock in an improved 43:32. Close behind was Romain Chambard in 43:43 with Mikey Walters breathing down his neck in 43:45. Paul Glover ran well for 45:21 with Barry Saunders next to finish in 46:01. There then followed a close inter-club battle involving Tracey Glover, Lizi Hunt, Nikki Reeves and Laura Harper who crossed the line in very respectable times of 46:42, 47:09, 47:12 and 47:41 respectively. Ross Ballinger, Dave Walters and Kev Clarke also had each other in site all race as they finished in Shobnall Fields in 48:10, 48:11 and 48:20. James Cobb and Tony Richards were welcomed home in 49:18 and 49:27 before Steve Fowler, made a welcome return to racing, to record 50;00. Two MV65s Malcolm Moore and Graeme Blackshaw battled well for 51:50 and 53:34 before Karen Wilks in 53:59 had the edge on this occasion on Ellie Dickson who finished in 55:37.

Kat Smith ran well for 56:18 with John Pegg close behind in 56:35. Alison Shearer (58:23), Melanie Barker (58:39), Sarah Walters (60:06), Robin Thorne (60:46) and Tom Robinson (60:51) kept the yellow vests to the fore in this phase of the race with Roger Cobb also running valiantly for 62:58. The biggest cheer of the day though was reserved for Jan Cobb (64:11) as she picked up a richly deserved age group prize. Emma Sharp, Pauline Cooper, Julianne Walters, Cath Johnson and Helen Clarke gave their usual maximum effort as they completed the Club’s finishers in 66:48, 69:16, 69:50, 75:20 and 80:16 respectively.


Share and Enjoy!